Raspberry Pi Diary : December 27, 2012

Late Night Hacking

Since my wife decided to spend the evening cleaning out the bedroom closet, using the bed as buffer space for old clothes and other detritus, I HAD TO stay up and play with my RPi some more.   Since I have guests sleeping in my office, I set about doing some remote hacking from upstairs.

I moved a few steps closer to making the PI more useful:raspberry_pi

  • Without any additional configuration, I used SSH to login to the Pi from my upstairs desk.  Most excellent that no additional messing about was necessary
  • Used apt-get to update the distro and installed PHP5, Apache, vsftpd and a few other tidbits.  Started playing with building content – totally standard Apache configuration.  Again, the CL tools are easier to use than the utilities included in Raspian.
  • Discovered that I can’t address the RPi using local DNS (.local addresses), but both the Ethernet and WiFi interfaces (10.0.0.x) serve just fine.   Tried pinging a variety of clients using the .local syntax.  Some resolve, some don’t.  Need to grok this issue in fullness.

 What to do Next?

So, I have a very cute and reasonably powerful ARM-based system to play with.  I don’t want it to just sit on the shelf next to my MIPS-based ShivaPlug, so I am mulling over some real-world applications for it:

  • Use it as a caching/loop storage server for IP cameras I originally installed to watch our puppies from Hawaii
  • Build a home-brewed smart thermostat – think Nest with wires hanging out
  • Experiment with Lua (very doable, even if the RPi community is focused on Python), among other things to diddle the bits on the GPIO port
  • Use it to learn Python ;-)
  • Employ the RPi to teach my younger daughter about embedded systems, web programming, etc.

Other suggestions welcome!

Incidentally, I backed Karl Lattimer’s HotPi project on Kickstarter.  I plan to have fun with the HotPi daughterboard once it arrives – it’ll help with the Nest clone project.

RaspberryPi.local – Avahi Daemon!

Without even meaning to, I tripped over a useful blog post by Matt Richardson – 10 Tips for New Raspberry Pi Owners.  To enable local DNS-style naming of my RPi (raspberrypi.local), I needed to install the Avahi Daemon.   Impressive dependency set – bless apt-get.  Worked immediately.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

